More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.

3rd Annual Kobo Emerging Writer Prize

Competition Closed

The submission period for the 2017 Kobo Emerging Writer Prize is now closed – thank you to all who participated this year.

Rules and Regulations >

The Kobo Emerging Writer Prize submission period begins on January 24, 2017 at 12:00:01 a.m. Eastern Standard Time ("EST") and ends on March 3, 2017 at 11:59:59 p.m. EST. To be eligible, authors must submit an English language, full-length novel or a collection of short stories or essays, which is their first published book. Author must be a Canadian citizen or legal resident of Canada who has reached the age of majority in their respective jurisdiction at the time of entry. The award is eligible only to Entrants who published works during the 2016 calendar year in one of the categories of Literary Fiction, Speculative Fiction, and Non-Fiction. Kobo will select one (1) winner in each category, for a total of three (3) winners. Each winner will be awarded a cash prize of $10,000 CAD, as well as support from Kobo through prominent merchandising, marketing and communications activities during 2017. The odds of winning depend on the number of eligible entries. For more Kobo Emerging Writer Prize details and Official Rules, please click here.