Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
  • My Name Is Leon

    by Kit de Waal ...
    “Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut” (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy’s quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers.Leon loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby brother. When Jake ... Read more

    $14.99 USD

  • Audiobook

    My Name Is Leon

    by Kit de Waal ...
    Narrated by Madeleine Maby ...

    Unabridged

    7 hours 52 min

    “Taut, emotionally intense, and wholly believable, this beautiful and uplifting debut” (Kirkus Reviews) about a young black boy’s quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care is a sparkling novel perfect for fans of The Language of Flowers.Leon loves chocolate bars, Saturday morning cartoons, and his beautiful, golden-haired baby brother. When Jake ... Read more

    $17.99 USD or free with audiobook trial

  • The Book of Birmingham

    A City In Short Fiction

    series Reading the City
    Few cities have undergone such a radical transformation over the last few decades as Birmingham. Culturally and architecturally, it has been in a state of perpetual flux and regeneration, with new communities moving in, then out, and iconic post-war landmarks making way for brighter-coloured, 21st century flourishes. Much like the city itself, the characters in the stories gathered here are often ... Read more

    $8.33 USD

  • Common People

    An Anthology of Working-Class Writers

    Working-class stories are not always tales of the underprivileged and dispossessed.Common People is a collection of essays, poems and memoir written in celebration, not apology: these are narratives rich in barbed humour, reflecting the depth and texture of working-class life, the joy and sorrow, the solidarity and the differences, the everyday wisdom and poetry of the woman at the bus stop, the ... Read more

    $1.99 USD

  • Six Foot Six

    by Kit de Waal ...
    It's an exciting day for Timothy Flowers. It's the third of November, and it's Friday, and it's his twenty-first birthday. When Timothy walks to his usual street corner to see his favourite special bus, he meets Charlie. Charlie is a builder who is desperate for Timothy's help because Timothy is very tall, six feet six inches. Timothy has never had a job before - or no work that he's kept for more ... Read more

    $1.38 USD

  • The Women Writers Handbook 2020

    A revised edition of the publisher’s inaugural publication in 1990, which won the Pandora Award from Women-in-Publishing. Inspirational in its original format, this new edition features poems, stories, essays and interviews with 30 + women writers, both emerging authors and luminaries of contemporary literature such as:– Choices: The Writing of Possession by A.S. Byatt– Becoming a Writer by Saskia ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • Audiobook

    Black British Lives Matter

    A Clarion Call for Equality

    Unabridged

    10 hours 20 min

    Featuring essays from David Olusoga, Dawn Butler MP, Kit de Waal, Kwame Kwei-Armah, and many more.In response to the international outcry at George Floyd's death, Lenny Henry and Marcus Ryder have commissioned this collection of essays to discuss how and why we need to fight for Black lives to matter - not just for Black people but for society as a whole.Recognising Black British experience within ... Read more

    $36.99 USD or free with audiobook trial

  • Audiobook

    My Name Is Selma

    The Remarkable Memoir of a Jewish Resistance Fighter and Ravensbrück Survivor

    Narrated by Rachel Bavidge ...

    Unabridged

    6 hours 6 min

    An international bestseller, this powerful memoir by a ninety-eight-year-old Jewish Resistance fighter and Holocaust survivor “shows us how to find hope in hopelessness and light in the darkness” (Edith Eger, author of The Choice and The Gift).Selma van de Perre was seventeen when World War II began. Until then, being Jewish in the Netherlands had not been an issue. But by 1941 it had become a ... Read more

    $17.99 USD or free with audiobook trial

  • My Name Is Selma

    The Remarkable Memoir of a Jewish Resistance Fighter and Ravensbrück Survivor

    An international bestseller, this powerful memoir by a ninety-eight-year-old Jewish Resistance fighter and Holocaust survivor “shows us how to find hope in hopelessness and light in the darkness” (Edith Eger, author of The Choice and The Gift).Selma van de Perre was seventeen when World War II began. Until then, being Jewish in the Netherlands had not been an issue. But by 1941 it had become a ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • My Name is Celia/Me llamo Celia

    The Life of Celia Cruz/la vida de Celia Cruz

    by Monica Brown ...
    Illustrated by Rafael López ...
    This bilingual book allows young readers to enter Celia Cruz's life as she becomes a well-known singer in her homeland of Cuba, then moves to New York City and Miami where she and others create a new type of music called salsa. School Library Journal has named My Name is Celia “[a]n exuberant picture-book biography . . . a brilliant introduction to a significant woman and her music.” ... Read more

    $12.29 USD

  • My Name is Elpee: A Trilogy

    Embark on life’s phantasmagorical journey, be that around the corner or beyond the Universe. Take my hand and see where my adventure takes me, but most importantly, see where it will take you.Let me not dilly dally, as I occasionally do, but instead get straight to the point. This is the tale –penned by Brenda Grace de Jong - of my most magickally dark and quirky journey from a nameless child from ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • My name is Irys and I need ICE

    Irys is a polar bear growing up on the Arctic ice. When she was a baby, her mama polar bear taught Irys how to hunt for seals by searching for their breathing holes in the ice. Then Irys grows up, and one day the big ice disappears. Climate change is melting the polar ice! Irys can no longer hunt because there are no more breathing holes, and she is very, very hungry. She swims and swims to try ... Read more

    $4.99 USD