Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
  • Nottingham

    A Novel

    Book 1 - Nottingham
    Nathan Makaryk's epic and daring debut rewrites the Robin Hood legend, giving voice to those history never mentioned and challenging who's really a hero and a villain.“The most pleasurable reading experience I've had since first discovering George R.R. Martin's A Song of Ice and Fire.” — Bryan Cogman, Co-Executive Producer and Writer, Game of ThronesNo king. No rules.England, 1191. King Richard is ... Read more

    $12.99 USD

  • Lionhearts

    Book 2 - Nottingham
    History and myth collide in Nathan Makaryk's Lionhearts, a riveting story of vengeance, redemption and war, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.All will be well when King Richard returns . . . but King Richard has been captured.To raise the money for his ransom, every lord in England is raising taxes, the French are eyeing the empty throne, and the man they called, “Robin Hood,” the man the ... Read more

    $14.99 USD $12.99 USD

  • Audiobook

    Nottingham

    A Novel

    Narrated by Marisa Calin, Raphael Corkhill ...
    Audiobook 1 - Nottingham

    Unabridged

    25 hours 25 min

    Both a gripping historical epic and fascinating deconstruction of the Robin Hood legend, Nathan Makaryk’s Nottingham mixes history and myth into a complex study of power—one that twists and turns far beyond the traditional tale of Sherwood Forest’s iconic thief.No king. No rules.England, 1191. King Richard is half a world away, fighting for God and his own ambition. Back home, his country ... Read more

    $23.79 USD or free with audiobook trial

  • Audiobook

    Lionhearts

    Narrated by Paul Woodson ...
    Audiobook 2 - Nottingham

    Unabridged

    25 hours 16 min

    History and myth collide in Nathan Makaryk's Lionhearts, a riveting story of vengeance, redemption, and war, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones All will be well when King Richard returns . . . but King Richard has been captured. To raise the money for his ransom, every lord in England is raising taxes, the French are eyeing the empty throne, and the man they called, "Robin Hood," the man the ... Read more

    $34.99 USD or free with audiobook trial

  • Shakespeare in the World of Communism and Socialism

    The works of William Shakespeare have long been embraced by communist and socialist governments. One of the central cultural debates of the Soviet period concerned repertoire, including the usefulness and function of pre-revolutionary drama for the New Man and the New Society. Shakespeare survived the byzantine twists and turns of Soviet cultural politics by becoming established early as the Great ... Read more

    $36.79 USD

  • April in Paris

    Theatricality, Modernism, and Politics at the 1925 Art Deco Expo

    by Irena Makaryk ...
    Attracting over fifteen million visitors, the 1925 Paris Expo had an ambitious goal to create a new modernist style which would reflect the great scientific, industrial, and technological advances that produced a new spirit known as "modern." In April in Paris, author Irena R. Makaryk explores the theatre arts’ vital cultural and political impact at this celebrated international exhibition.Drawing ... Read more

    $56.19 USD

  • Shakespeare and the Second World War

    Memory, Culture, Identity

    Shakespeare’s works occupy a prismatic and complex position in world culture: they straddle both the high and the low, the national and the foreign, literature and theatre. The Second World War presents a fascinating case study of this phenomenon: most, if not all, of its combatants have laid claim to Shakespeare and have called upon his work to convey their society’s self-image.In wartime, such ... Read more

    $58.39 USD

  • Free from all Danger

    by Chris Nickson ...
    Book 7 - A Richard Nottingham Mystery
    Richard Nottingham discovers that a new, more ruthless breed of criminal has colonised the city when he returns as Constable of Leeds.October, 1736. Lured out of retirement to serve as Constable once again, Richard Nottingham finds Leeds very different from the place he remembers. Many newcomers have been attracted by the town?s growing wealth,but although the faces have changed, the crimes remain ... Read more

    $9.89 USD

  • Nottingham

    The Buried Past of a Historic City Revealed

    by Scott Lomax ...
    NOTTINGHAM: THE BURIED PAST OF A HISTORIC CITY REVEALED covers the story of the part of the city which was known as Nottingham during Medieval times. It is an accessible read and the ideal book for anyone with a general interest in the history of the city of Nottingham. However, it will also suit professional archaeologists and students alike due to the large amount of previously unpublished ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • Cold Cruel Winter

    by Chris Nickson ...
    Book 2 - A Richard Nottingham Mystery
    Second in the highly-acclaimed Richard Nottingham historical mystery series 1732. Richard Nottingham, Constable of the City of Leeds, is grieving the death of his daughter, but he must rouse himself from his lethargy when the body of wealthy wool merchant Samuel Graves is discovered, his throat slit, the skin razed from his back. Why would the killer want Graves' skin? When Nottingham receives a ... Read more

    $9.89 USD

  • Constant Lovers

    by Chris Nickson ...
    Book 3 - A Richard Nottingham Mystery
    A tale of greed, ambition and thwarted love in eighteenth-century Leeds -July, 1732. On a hot summer morning, Richard Nottingham, Constable of Leeds, is called out when a young woman is found stabbed to death among the ruins of Kirkstall Abbey. In her pocket is a love note: "Soon we'll be together and our hearts can sing loud, my love. W." What happened to the maid who accompanied her mistress on ... Read more

    $9.89 USD

  • Bradshaw's Railway Handbook Vol 4

    Essex, Suffolk, Norfolk, Hertford, Cambridge, Huntingdon, Rutland, Leicester, Nottingham, …& the South-Eastern Counties of Scotland

    'Hard to put down ... truthful and opinionated, often funny but never predictable ... the finest travelling companion.' – Michael Portillo on BradshawA superb guide to Britain's villages, towns and connecting railways, dating from 1866. Unavailable for many years and much sought after, this classic guide book is now faithfully reissued for a new generation. Bradshaw's Railway Handbook was ... Read more

    $4.11 USD