Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
  • The Only Woman in the Room

    A Novel

    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERTHE USA TODAY BESTSELLERBestselling author Marie Benedict reveals the story of a brilliant woman scientist only remembered for her beauty.Her beauty almost certainly saved her from the rising Nazi party and led to marriage with an Austrian arms dealer. Underestimated in everything else, she overheard the Third Reich's plans while at her husband's side and understood ... Read more

    $13.09 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Room

    A Memoir of Japan, Human Rights, and the Arts

    In 1946, at age twenty-two, Beate Sirota Gordon helped to draft the new postwar Japanese Constitution. The Only Woman in the Room chronicles how a daughter of Russian Jews became the youngest woman to aid in the rushed, secret drafting of a constitution; how she almost single-handedly ensured that it would establish the rights of Japanese women; and how, as a fluent speaker of Japanese and the ... Read more

    $13.09 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Room

    Why Science Is Still a Boys' Club

    **ONE OF WASHINGTON POST'S NOTABLE NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE YEAR“Beautifully written and full of important insights,” this is a bracingly honest exploration of why there are still so few women in the hard sciences, mathematics, engineering, and computer science (Washington Post)**In 2005, when Lawrence Summers, then president of Harvard, asked why so few women, even today, achieve tenured positions ... Read more

    $14.99 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Room

    Quotes and Wisdom for a Fearless Life

    The Only Woman in the Room,Quotes and Wisdom for a Fearless Life.Former advertising and public relations executive, Annette Merritt Cummings, has written a memoir about a career where she was often the only woman and only black person in the room. This book features quotes, wisdom and inspirational hymns and poems she collected over the years that motivated and encouraged her throughout her 30 ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Room: A Novel by Marie Benedict: Conversation Starters

    by dailyBooks ...
    The Only Woman in the Room: A Novel by Marie Benedict: Conversation StartersAward-winning Author of New York Times bestselling historical fiction novels such as The Other Einstein depicting the story of Mileva Maric, wife of Albert Einstein and the Carnegie's Maid featuring the intelligent maid of steel industrialist Andrew Carnegie, Marie Benedict, has written the book titled The only lady in the ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Room

    Episodes in My Life and Career as a Television Writer

    by Rita Lakin ...
    Rita Lakin was a pioneer – a female scriptwriter in the early 1960s when Hollywood television was exclusively male. For years, in creative meetings she was literally “the only woman in the room.” In this breezy but heartfelt remembrance, Lakin takes readers to a long-forgotten time when women were not considered worthy or welcome at the creative table. Widowed with three young children, she talked ... Read more

    $20.59 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Room

    The Making of a Stockbroker

    In the 1960s, when women were neither accepted nor encouraged to enter the world of finance, Jean Hough Davey became one of the first women in North America to be licensed as a stockbroker. Propelled by sheer wit and determination, Jean was a pioneer who rose to the highest levels of her profession, eventually becoming Vice President and Director of ScotiaMcLeod.But while she was publicly lauded, ... Read more

    $9.99 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Photo

    Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

    Illustrated by Alexandra Bye ...
    Discover the incredible life of Frances Perkins, the first woman to serve in a presidential cabinet and the mastermind behind Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal, in this fascinating picture book biography that’s perfect for fans of I Dissent.Most people know about President FDR, but do you know the woman who created his groundbreaking New Deal?As a young girl, Frances Perkins was very shy and quiet. ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Town, and Other Tales of the American Revolution

    "The Only Woman in the Town, and Other Tales of the American Revolution" by Sarah J. Prichard. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously ... Read more

    $0.99 USD

  • The Only Woman in the Town, and Other Tales of the American Revolution

    One hundred years and one ago, in Boston, at ten of the clock one April night, a church steeple had been climbed and a lantern hung out. At ten, the same night, in mid-river of the Charles, oarsmen two, with passenger silent and grim, had seen the signal light out-swung, and rowed with speed for the Charlestown shore. At eleven, the moon was risen, and the grim passenger, Paul Revere, had ridden ... Read more

    $4.99 USD

  • Audiobook

    The Only Woman In the Photo

    Frances Perkins & Her New Deal for America

    Narrated by Madeleine Maby ...

    Unabridged

    23 min

    Most people know about President FDR, but do you know the woman who created his groundbreaking New Deal? As a young girl, Frances Perkins was very shy and quiet. But her grandmother encouraged Frances to always challenge herself. When somebody opens a door to you, go forward. And so she did. Frances realized she had to make her voice heard, even when speaking made her uncomfortable, in order to ... Read more

    $24.99 USD or FREE with audiobook trial

  • Blindsided: Essays from the Only Black Woman in the Room

    by Dawn Downey ...
    How does a black woman maintain her sense of self, when most of her friends are white? In public spaces and private, Dawn Downey is under attack by an onslaught of microaggressions. She struggles to find balance between personal relationships and personal integrity. In the process, she unconsciously takes on characteristics of the privileged. But after a photo of a racist toy shows up in her ... Read more

    $4.99 USD