Skip to main content

Recommended For You

Loading...

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem
  • The Scent of a Storm

    "...a complex multi-layered narrative that fully engages the reader." Historical Novel Society"...a fantastic read that is impossible to put down and will steal the hearts of all true romantics, as well as historical fiction buffs. I can highly recommend this book." Readers' Favorite Five StarsEastern Prussia, 1944: Young lovers Annie and Werner are separated from each other when he is drafted ... Read more

    $5.99 USD

  • Boys No More: True Stories of WWII

    As Germany enters its last war year and precious resources, especially available and combat-ready men, have grown scarce, Hitler decides it is time to exploit Germany's teens. Unlike typical battle stories, this collection of true accounts follows four fifteen- to seventeen-year old boys as they struggle with the ever-crumbling Reich, trying to stay alive against the odds.Visiting his brother, ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • When They Made Us Leave

    "A must read!" InD'Tale Magazine"Solid characterizations and love of place are highlights of this well-told tale of courage, fortitude and the power of kindness. When They Made Us Leave is a welcome addition to World War II historical fiction." Historical Novel Society"...I was sucked into the story due to her incredible storytelling skills and true-to-life characters...highly recommended." ... Read more

    $4.99 USD

  • A Lightness in My Soul

    Inspired by the incredible true story of a German teen taken prisoner at the end of WWII, determined to survive and to reunite with his mother - A Lightness in My Soul is a tribute to the triumph of hope and redemption against all odds.Germany, October 2019: In a car repair shop an elderly man waits next to a woman. They begin to talk about the Great War, when he was just a teen. He tells her a ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • Escape From the Past: The Kid

    Escape From the Past, #2

    Book 2 - Escape From the Past
    "...a gripping YA historical novel." -Historical Novel SocietyAfter a huge fight with his parents, Max tries to return to his love and his best friend, Bero, in medieval Germany. Instead he lands in 1881 New Mexico. Struggling to get his bearings and coming to terms with Dr. Stuler's evil computer game misleading him, he runs into Billy the Kid. To his amazement Billy isn't at all the ruthless ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • Escape From the Past: At Witches' End

    Escape From the Past, #3

    Book 3 - Escape From the Past
    "Annette Oppenlander has a genuine flair for original and compelling storytelling...will keep the readers rapt attention from cover to cover. Unfailingly entertaining from beginning to end, "At Witches' End" is unreservedly recommended." –Midwest Book Review"...guaranteed to please readers who love plenty of adventures, battles and love trysts. It is highly recommended YA historical fiction." ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • Escape From the Past: The Duke's Wrath

    Escape From the Past, #1

    Book 1 - Escape From the Past
    **"...**will grip the reader's total attention from beginning to end. Very highly recommended for school and community library..." -Midwest Book Review***"...*an entertaining and fast-paced read that guarantees to thrill any young reader's/gamer's wish to be a hero in a faraway time." -Historical Novel SocietyWhen nerd and gamer, Max Anderson, tries out an experimental computer game, he doesn't ... Read more

    $2.99 USD

  • Where the Night Never Ends

    A chance encounter between a penniless young woman in search of her missing brother and a hobo burdened with a big secret takes both on a journey to Chicago's glamorous yet crime-ridden 1920s, where prostitution, bootlegging, and corruption rule. Separated by fate and reunited by chance, WHERE THE NIGHT NEVER ENDS is an unforgettable tale of courage and perseverance, a tribute to the triumph of ... Read more

    $4.99 USD

  • Audiobook

    Everything We Lose

    A Civil War Novel of Hope, Courage and Redemption

    Narrated by Alan Taylor ...

    Unabridged

    9 hours 42 min

    "Oppenlander's rich, gritty descriptions are a joy to read. Her touching story moves along quickly, but will keep you in suspense until the final pages." -Historical Novel Society"I fell in love with this book." -Our Town Book Reviews**"...a well-deserved 5+ stars." -**Locks, Hooks and Books**"...full of rich details..." -**Books Direct**"...dramatic twists did make me think of some of those grand ... Read more

    $23.99 USD or free with audiobook trial

  • 47 Days: The True Story of Two Teen Boys Defying Hitler's Reich

    '47 DAYS' is a novelette and a partial excerpt from the novel, SURVIVING THE FATHERLAND—A True Coming-of-age Love Story Set in WWII Germany.In March 1945 Hitler ordered his last propaganda command: send all 15 and 16-year old boys to defend the fatherland. 47 DAYS tells the true story of Günter and Helmut, best friends, who dared to defy and disobey. Without knowing how long the war might continue ... Read more

    $2.49 USD

  • Surviving the Fatherland: A True Coming-of-age Love Story Set in WWII Germany

    Winner/Nominee of eight awards"This book needs to join the ranks of the classic survivor stories of WWII such as "Diary of Anne Frank" and "Man's Search for Meaning". It is truly that amazing!" InD'taleMagazine"This novel is fast-paced and emotively worded and features a great selection of characters, flawed and poignantly three-dimensional." Historical Novel SocietySpanning thirteen years from ... Read more

    $6.99 USD

  • A Different Truth

    A historical coming-of-age adventure for readers of A Separate Peace and The Catcher in the Rye."...a powerful and thought provoking tale that allows us to think about our moral decisions." -Readers' Favorite Five Stars**When a heinous crime is committed behind the secretive walls of a boarding school and Andy Olson decides to investigate, he's drawn into a conspiracy that reaches to the highest ... Read more

    $3.99 USD