Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
itemsitem


Search Results

1 - 12 of 8049 results for “the dangers of proximal alphabets kathleen alcott

Skip side bar filters
  • The Dangers of Proximal Alphabets

    A Novel

    by Kathleen Alcott

    An extraordinary debut novel that challenges the definition of family and explores the intricate ties that bind us togetherIda grew up with Jackson and James—where there was “I” there was a “J.” She can’t recall a time when she didn’t have them around, whether in their early days camping out in the boys’ room decorated with circus scenes or later drinking on rooftops as teenagers. While the world ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Audiobook

    The Dangers of Proximal Alphabets

    by Kathleen Alcott

    Narrated by Carrington MacDuffie

    Unabridged

    4 hours 46 min

    Ida grew up with Jackson and James—where there was “I” there was a “J.” She can’t recall a time when she didn’t have them around, whether in their early days camping out in the boys’ room decorated with circus scenes or later as teenagers when they were drinking on rooftops. While the world outside saw them as neighbors and friends, to each other the three formed a family unit—two brothers and a ... Read more

    $13.95 USD or FREE with audiobook trial

  • Current Concepts in the Management of Proximal Interphalangeal Joint Disorders, An Issue of Hand Clinics, E-Book

    by Kevin C. Chung and 2 more

    series The Clinics: Orthopedics #Volume 34-2
    This issue of Hand Clinics, guest edited by series consulting editor Dr. Kevin Chung, will cover Current Concepts in the Management of Proximal Interphalangeal Joint Disorders. Topics discussed in the volume include: Anatomy and biomechanics of the finger proximal interphalangeal joint; Surgical exposure of the proximal interphalangeal joint; Treating proximal interphalangeal joint dislocations; ... Read more

    $78.29 USD

  • Beginning Writers in the Zone of Proximal Development

    by Elizabeth Petrick-Steward

    How do young children bridge the gap between "writing" a story with pictures and writing with words? How children learn to use written words to tell a story is a topic important to both cognitive development and early literacy instruction. Using the theoretical framework developed by Vygotsky, the behavior of a group of prekindergarten children as they author two consecutive pieces of writing is ... Read more

    $53.09 USD

  • Six Shorts 2017: The finalists for the 2017 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

    by Kathleen Alcott and 5 more

    This year's six shortlisted stories for the world's richest short story prize, the £30,000 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award.The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is the world's most prestigious and richest short story prize, worth £30,000 to the winner. Past winners and shortlisted authors have included the Pulitzer winners Junot Díaz, Anthony Doerr and Adam Johnson, plus Hilary Mantel, Ali ... Read more

    $3.99 USD

  • Infinite Home

    A Novel

    by Kathleen Alcott

    **"[E]xpect to find insights that make you stop, go back and read again.... Take it from us: You don't know what's coming in the last third of this book, and you will be astounded." —O, the Oprah MagazineA beautifully wrought story of an ad hoc family and the crisis they must overcome together.**Edith is a widowed landlady who rents apartments in her Brooklyn brownstone to an unlikely collection ... Read more

    $6.99 USD

  • America Was Hard to Find

    A Novel

    by Kathleen Alcott

    In the wake of an affair, the lives of an astronaut and a radical are forever altered by the political fault lines of the 1960s, setting off a series of events ricocheting from anti-Vietnam activism to the Apollo program to the AIDS crisis, in this sprawling multigenerational novelEcuador, 1969: An American expatriate, Fay Fern, sits in the corner of a restaurant, she and her young son Wright ... Read more

    $10.99 USD

  • Audiobook

    America Was Hard to Find

    A Novel

    by Kathleen Alcott

    Narrated by Tristan Morris

    Unabridged

    12 hours 19 min

    Ecuador, 1969: An American expatriate, Fay Fern, sits in the corner of a restaurant, she and her young son Wright turned away from the television where Vincent Kahn becomes the first man to walk on the moon.Years earlier, Fay and Vincent meet at a pilots’ bar in the Mojave Desert. Both seemed poised for reinvention—the married test pilot, Vincent, as an astronaut; the spurned child of privilege, ... Read more

    $26.99 USD or FREE with audiobook trial

  • Audiobook

    Infinite Home

    by Kathleen Alcott

    Narrated by Christa Lewis

    Unabridged

    8 hours 52 min

    A beautifully wrought story of an ad hoc family and the crisis they must overcome togetherEdith is a widowed landlady who rents apartments in her Brooklyn brownstone to an unlikely collection of humans, all deeply in need of shelter. Crippled in various ways—in spirit, in mind, in body, in heart—the renters struggle to navigate daily existence and soon come to realize that Edith’s deteriorating ... Read more

    $19.95 USD or FREE with audiobook trial

  • See What You Made Me Do

    The Dangers of Domestic Abuse That We Ignore, Explain Away, or Refuse to See

    by Jess Hill

    A deeply researched account from an award-winning journalist that uncovers the ways in which abusers exert control in the darkest—and most intimate—ways imaginableWe fear dark alleys when in truth, home is the most dangerous place for a woman. Of the 87,000 women killed globally in 2017, more than a third (30,000) were killed by an intimate partner, and another 20,000 were killed by a family ... Read more

    $10.69 USD

  • Audiobook

    The Dangers of Smoking in Bed

    Stories

    by Mariana Enriquez

    Narrated by Rebecca Soler

    Unabridged

    5 hours 47 min

    “The lauded Argentine author of What We Lost in the Fire returns with enthralling stories conjured from literary sorcery” (O: The Oprah Magazine), in the tradition of Shirley Jackson and Jorge Luis Borges.Mariana Enriquez has been critically lauded for her unconventional and sociopolitical stories of the macabre. Populated by unruly teenagers, crooked witches, homeless ghosts, and hungry women, ... Read more

    $15.00 USD or FREE with audiobook trial