Skip to Main Content
EWP Logo

The 2024 Emerging Writer Prize shortlist announced!

With the Emerging Writer Prize, Rakuten Kobo endeavours to raise the profiles of debut authors by recognizing exceptional books written by first-time Canadian authors in three categories: Literary Fiction, Nonfiction, and one of three types of genre fiction: Romance, Speculative Fiction, or Mystery.

On June 18, 2024, Rakuten Kobo will announce the winners of its tenth annual Emerging Writer Prize, in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Mystery. We invite you to get to know the 2024 shortlist and judges below.

The 2024 Nonfiction Shortlist

The 2024 Literary Fiction Shortlist

The 2024 Mystery Shortlist


If you would like to be the first to know about bookish blogs, please subscribe. We promise to provided only relevant articles.