We've added this item to your cart.
Your $5 CREDIT has been applied
YOU CAN GET $5 off YOUR FIRST PURCHASE

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

With the purchase of Kobo VIP Membership, you're getting 10% off and 2x Kobo Super Points on eligible items.

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.
itemsitem
Ratings and Book Reviews (3 14 star ratings
3 reviews
)

Overall rating

4.4 out of 5
14
5 Stars 4 Stars 3 Stars 2 Stars 1 Star
7 6 1 0 0

Share your thoughts

You've already shared your review for this item. Thanks!

We are currently reviewing your submission. Thanks!

Complete your review

All Book Reviews

  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Welcome back to the Witchlands

    Welcome back to the Witchlands! I've always been drawn to this series. Its magical elements and intense story lines are things only an amazing author can think up. This story showed another side of the Witchlands, with some old and new characters. It was a great short read and I can't wait to see what will come next from Susan Dennard. Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    Mehville

    First of all, I know that this was an excerpt and did not hold all the great aspects of the storyline. That being said, I was not impressed, NOTHING really happened? Shouldn’t the reason for the except be to get the reader so invested that they cannot wait to buy the book? I feel like this Novella could just be added to a book to make it better but alone it is not that great. I couldn’t connect with the characters and if this was a full-length book, I do believe that at this point in the book I would have put it down and declared it a DNF. There were many times I started reading the book and could not get into the story because the pacing was so slow and there was little action. There was more action in the Blurb than the entire book! (at least that is how it felt!) The biggest downfall was trying to keep everything sorted in this short. There are just too many POV changes and flipping around from now to the past. I was confused for most of the book. Perhaps the second half cleared all that up and really took off. Who knows? I do not know if I will find out or if I will even read the rest later on. Since I only have half the story and half the perspective, I am going to give it 2.5 stars or half a review. I will round it up to a three on Goodreads/Media outlets because it was not a terrible book and I do not know how much better it could be and do not was to dissuade others from reading it.
  • 0 person found this review helpful

    0 people found this review helpful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your feedback!

    A Must-Read in the Witchlands series!

    SIGHTWITCH by Susan Dennard is a book like no other. The third book in Dennard’s fantasy series, this illustrated novella is set one year before TRUTHWITCH and is made up of journal entries, sketches, maps, letters, notes, and records as well as songs, prayers & rules pertaining to the Sightwitches. There is so much to this novella, but it is never overwhelming. Dennard’s writing skills have reached new heights. SIGHTWITCH is one of the most creative forms of the novel. This book has two main POV’s: Ryber Fortiza, a character we met in TRUTHWITCH and WINDWITCH, and Eridysi, a Sighwitch Sister who lived a 1000 years ago. Separated by time and connected by the thread of fate. The character development Ryber experiences is incredible! At the beginning, Ryber wants so bad to be summoned and given the Sight. That desire was so strong and I wanted that for Ryber, so badly. This desire to be summoned by Sirmaya is one of the strongest I have ever felt from a character, in all the books I’ve read. Then Ryber goes on this journey and she grows so much – I loved being able to witness it all. She also meets Kullen Ikray, an Airwitch we first read about in TRUTHWITCH. I loved having him in the book because we saw a deeper, more honest side of him. He is truly a precious cinnamon roll. I don’t think I could ever read a Dennard book and be disappointed – the character development was phenomenal. The development of Eridysi, a character who lived a thousand years ago, was also great because we learn about an actual person, and not a legend or someone’s over exaggeration of Eridysi’s life. I connected so much with this character that I wouldn’t mind an entire book (or series) from her POV. World-building is always my favourite and I especially loved the way I got to experience it here. The journal entries and sketches made up most of the book and were amazing to read. However, it was the notes and the songs and the Sighwitch rules written to the side that completed my experience. Being able to learn about the Witchlands and Dennard’s characters in this way was undoubtedly one-of-a-kind. Here’s a quote from the finished copy that I love re: the world-building: 38. THE RULE OF DISPUTED TRUTH Oftentimes, Memory Records offer different accounts for the same event. As such, all Memory Records are true and all Memory Records are false, for what is life except perception? Page 118. SIGHTWITCH has changed my perception of the Witchlands – both past and future. Which brings me to my final point: we are introduced to a darker, more ominous side of the Witchlands, a side we saw hints of in the first two books. The suspense I felt in this book, the way my heart raced, other books cannot even compare. There are Death Maidens and shadow wyrms and much, much more. Fans of TRUTHWITCH and WINDWITCH will not want to miss this highly anticipated, new release from Susan Dennard. Sighwitch: The True Tale of the Twelve Paladins. The illustrations in this book were created by Rhys Davies. My recommended reading order: Truthwitch, Windwitch and then Sightwitch. Although Sightwitch is set a year before Truthwitch, I feel your reading experience will be much more positive if you’re already familiar with the world of the Witchlands. Also, things happen in Sightwitch that would be kind of spoilery to people who haven’t read Truthwitch or Windwitch. Here are some more of my favourite quotes: Tanzi had recognized that the stars, the Rules – none of it was real. It was only what we chose them to be. Page 205. I rested my hands on either side of his face – that beautiful, lined face that I had grown to love. “This is what the Goddess wills, and so we must obey”. Then, when he had made no move to turn, I murmured the only No’Amatsi words I knew: “Mhe verujta” Trust me as if my soul were yours. Page 219. And if I was being honest, I wanted to find him. But there is always the sharp, hidden side of Lady’s Fate’s knife, where what we want is not what we ultimately get. Page 225. I received an eARC from the publisher. This has in no way altered my honest opinion of the book.
14

You can read this item using any of the following Kobo apps and devices:

  • DESKTOP
  • eREADERS
  • IOS
  • ANDROID
  • TABLETS
  • WINDOWS