Skip to main content

More titles to consider

Shopping Cart

You're getting the VIP treatment!

Item(s) unavailable for purchase
Please review your cart. You can remove the unavailable item(s) now or we'll automatically remove it at Checkout.

Seventh Annual Kobo Emerging Writer Prize

Requirements and Prizing

To qualify, authors must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, with debut full-length books or collections of short stories published in 2020. Authors can enter books in one of three categories: Literary Fiction, Mystery (a different genre is highlighted each year), or Nonfiction. A winner in each category will be chosen by our judges and awarded $10,000 in cash as well as promotional, marketing, and communications support. Our goal is to not only recognize talented individuals but also help boost the winners' careers.

Fill out my online form.

The Kobo Emerging Writer Prize submission period begins on February 9, 2021 at 12:00:01 a.m. Eastern Standard Time ("EST") and ends on March 16, 2021 at 11:59:59 p.m. EST (the “Competition Period”). To be eligible, authors must submit an English language, full-length novel or a collection of short stories or essays, which is their first published book. Author must be a Canadian citizen or legal resident of Canada who has reached the age of majority in their respective jurisdiction at the time of entry. The award is eligible only to Entrants who published works during the 2020 calendar year in one of the categories of Literary Fiction, Mystery, and Non-Fiction. Kobo will select one (1) winner in each category, for a total of three (3) winners. Each winner will be awarded a cash prize of $10,000 CAD, as well as support from Kobo through prominent merchandising, marketing and communications activities during 2021. The odds of winning depend on the number of eligible entries. For more Kobo Emerging Writer Prize details and Official Rules, please click here.